How One Yes and a Bold Leap into Uncertainty Changed My Life

“Boldness has genius, power, & magic in it”

When my husband received word that he had gotten a promotion at work, we had no idea how much our lives would change in just six months

This job was his dream job. The one he had written about in his Five Year Plan just a few months before.

This was a really big deal for him.

What we didn’t anticipate was that his dream job would be located overseas and would require a two-plus year temporary move to Pyeongtaek, South Korea.

As he read aloud to me the contents of an email announcing his promotion, we both froze, staring wide-eyed in disbelief.

“Well, do you want to move to South Korea for two and a half years,” he half-smiled and looked as if he felt guilty for even asking the question. “I won’t do it without you,” he said. “But I want to be sure you want this, too.”

Before I answered him, I hesitated: Did I want to leave behind my home, my comfort zone, my family, my cats, my plants … basically everything I love? Could I be happy far away from the big X on the map that marks where home is for me?

Or did I want to throw caution out like yesterday’s trash and take a once-in-a-lifetime…

--

--